About the National Newspaper Awards

The National Newspaper Awards were established in 1949 by the Toronto Press Club with the financial and moral support of the late C. George McCullagh. Since 1989, the awards have been governed by a Board of Governors representing both daily newspaper companies and the public. The awards are administered by the not-for-profit Canadian Daily Newspaper Awards Programme Administration Corporation. The NNAs are housed at 37 Front Street East, Suite 200, Toronto, ON, M5E 1B3. Tel: 416-923-3567, ext 3228; Fax: 416-923-7206; EMAIL: info@nna-ccj.ca.

The awards program draws funds for its operations and for the prize money from entry fees, banquet ticket sales, a voluntary fund-raising program, the Toronto Press Club’s NNA Trust fund, and donations from sponsors of the awards gala.

There are 21 categories: Arts and Entertainment, Beat Reporting, Breaking News, Business, Columns, Editorial Cartooning, Editorials, Explanatory Work, Feature Photo, International, Investigations, Local Reporting (for newspapers under 30,000 average daily circulation), Long Feature, News Feature Photo, News Photo, Politics, Presentation, Project of the Year, Short Feature, Sports and Sports Photo.

Entry Fee
Entry fee is $50 per entry, plus applicable tax; $40 plus applicable tax for entries published by organizations on our benefactor list. There is no charge for entering in the Local Reporting category.

Judging is done by prominent people selected from across the country. Most have had extensive media experience. There are three judges in each category and they arrive at a consensus decision after examining the entries over a seven-week period.

Reprints of award certificates may be ordered through the NNA office. Reprints are $50 each plus HST, payable in advance.