National Newspaper Awards

Honouring the best in Canadian journalism since 1949


Thursday 1 December 2022

National Newspaper Awards open 2022 contest with a new entry system

TORONTO, Dec. 1, 2022 – The National Newspapers Awards is introducing a new entry system today, as it begins accepting entries for the 2022 competition. Entries […]
Monday 28 November 2022

NNA Board of Governors approves new award, citation for 2022 contest

TORONTO, Nov. 28, 2022 — The National Newspaper Awards Board of Governors has approved a new category for reporting on a special topic, as well as […]
Wednesday 11 May 2022

National Newspaper Awards Board of Governors welcomes two new members and approves two new award sponsorships

TORONTO, May 11, 2022 – The Board of Governors of the National Newspaper Awards has unanimously approved the appointment of two new members: George Abraham and […]

Gallery of Winning Visuals - 2021

About the National Newspaper Awards

The National Newspaper Awards were established in 1949 by the Toronto Press Club, and developed a new governance structure in 1989 under the auspices of the not-for-profit Canadian Daily Newspaper Awards Programme Administration Corporation.

The program is funded by annual fees paid by Benefactor organizations, entry fees and sponsorships.

There are 23 categories: Arts and Entertainment, Beat Reporting, Breaking News, Breaking News Photo, Business, Columns, Editorial Cartooning, Editorials, Explanatory Work, Feature Photo, General News Photo, International, Investigations, Local Reporting, Long Feature, Politics, Presentation/Design, Project of the Year, Short Feature, Special Topic, Sports, Sports Photo and Sustained News Coverage.

Key Dates

December 1, 2022 – Entries open
January 15, 2023 – Entries close
March 15, 2023 – Judges’ Deadline
May 5, 2023 – 2022 Awards Gala

Thanks to our Sponsors and Benefactors