National Newspaper Awards winners to be announced via webcast on Friday, May 1, at 7 p.m. ET

TORONTO, April 8, 2020 – Winners of the 2019 National Newspaper Awards will be announced on Friday, May 1.

Because of COVID-19, the annual NNA gala to announce winners has been cancelled. Instead, the announcements will be made in a webcast starting at 7 p.m. ET on May 1.

To view the webcast at that time, go to

The webcast will also be available afterwards for viewing any time on the NNA’s YouTube channel:

Winners will also be announced on the NNA website ( at 8 p.m. ET on Friday, May 1. All finalist entries can be viewed there as well.

This is the 71st year for the awards program, and the 31st under the current administrative structure. The awards were established by the Toronto Press Club in 1949 to encourage excellence and reward achievement in daily newspaper work in Canada. The competition is now open to daily newspapers, news agencies and online news sites approved for entry by the NNA Board of Governors.


For more information, contact:


Paul Woods
Executive Director
National Newspaper Awards